CONCEALED CARRY

The authorized Illinois State Concealed Carry training curriculum in 16, 8 and 3-hours (renewal) are designed to demonstrate the complexities associated with being a legally armed civilian and the heighten sense of responsibility one has undertaken.  The training course consists of classroom and live-fire private range training.  

The 16-hour Final Defense Institute training course will cover the following topics 

(Pursuant to 430 Illinois Compiled Statute 66/25);

  • Firearms Safety – a minimum of 1-hour

  • Basic Principles of Marksmanship – minimum of 1-hour

  • Care, Cleaning, Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm – a minimum of 1-hour

  • All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry and transportation of a firearm and the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm – a minimum of 2-hours and

  • Weapon Handling - a minimum of 1-hour.

For students who have already successfully completed prior training through a State of Illinois approved curriculum click here for credit hours.  You will be required to show proof of prior credit at time of registration with Final Defense Institute.

The Final Defense Institute 8-hour training course will, at a minimum, cover the following topics (Pursuant to 430 Illinois Compiled Statute 66/25);

  • All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry and transportation of a firearm and the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm – a minimum of 2-hours and

  • Weapon Handling - a minimum of 1-hour.

The Final Defense Institute 3-hour licensure renewal course will, at a minimum, cover the following topics (Pursuant to 430 Illinois Compiled Statute 66/25);

  • 2-hours to cover;

    • Any updates to Illinois or federal firearms laws governing concealed carry in Illinois;

    • Updates in the Criminal Code and

    • Appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm; and

  • 1-hour minimum live-fire range training;

    • Culminating with the required 30 round qualification course using the B-27 silhouette target. 

      • 10 rounds from 5 yards

      • 10 rounds from 7 yards

      • 10 rounds from 10 yards

ELIGIBILITY FOR ILLINOIS RESIDENTS (At time of application with the Illinois State Police).

  • 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor from Final Defense Institute.

  • Electronic Copy of your training certificate(s) provided by Final Defense Institute. You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process with the Illinois State Police.

  • An Illinois State Police User ID and Password that you create at time of application.

  • A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.

  • A valid FOID card unless in the process of getting a valid FOID card.

  • A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days.

  • Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.

  • Fingerprints – Electronic fingerprints will expedite your application! Specify to the Live Scan vendor that your fingerprint application is for the Concealed Carry application (ORI = IL920707Z, Purpose Code = CCW).

NOTE: Applicants will be assigned a transaction control number (TCN) at the time of fingerprinting and will be required to retain that TCN to complete the application.

For a list of approved fingerprint vendors please click here.

  • $150.00 payable with a credit card or electronic check to the Illinois State Police at time of application.

ELIGIBILITY FOR NON-RESIDENTS (At time of application with the Illinois State Police).

In accordance with 430 ILCS 66/40 (b), out of state residents may be eligible for an Illinois Concealed Carry License if your state meets the definition of substantially similar as established by rule. See 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.10. Currently, the states identified below have been determined to have laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under Illinois’ law; and, therefore, may apply for an Concealed Carry License. This list will be updated as additional states are identified as substantially similar.

Hawaii, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia

Further Information concerning the regulations for non-resident applications can be found at 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.110.

Other requirements if your state meets the substantially similarly definition:

  • 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor from Final Defense Institute.

  • An electronic copy of a valid concealed carry license from my home state.

  • Electronic Copy of your training certificate(s) provided by Final Defense Institute. You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process with the Illinois State Police.

  • A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days.

  • An Illinois State Police User ID and password

  • A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.

  • Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.

  • notarized affidavit documenting the applicant’s eligibility under both state and federal laws, the understanding of the laws pertaining to possession and transport of firearms, acknowledgment the applicant is subject to the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Police and the Illinois courts and that the applicant meets the mental health standards in Illinois to obtain a firearm.

  • $300.00 payable with a credit card or electronic check to the Illinois State Police at time of application.

  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2017 by Final Defense Institute